Gold Ilya Shtutsa – Not Only Grey – TPD Book Award 2019 [PDF]

Discussion in 'Photo eBooks' started by Nikon4life, 1 Nov 2022.

1. Nikon4life

Nikon4life Legendary Master

Lifetime Gold Gold Member No Limit
    Ilya Shtutsa – Not Only Grey – TPD Book Award 2019

More Info HERE

File Size: 12.82 MB
    File Format: PDF
    Publication Date: 2019
    upload_2022-10-31_21-21-49.png

Not Only Grey
    “In 2010 I was a very excited beginner street photographer. I knew almost nothing, but I was very lucky to discover and join the Street Photography Now Project by Stephen McLaren and Sophie Howarth.

Pacing week by week through the instructions of the project was a great school as well as a great joy. Meanwhile, I decided to change my location from Khabarovsk, a city in the Far East of Russia, to St. Petersburg. The way takes exactly seven days on a train, the time of changing project instruction. And one of this week was the instruction by russian photographer Boris Savelev: “Different shades of gray are astonishing”.

As a response, I’ve sent a black and white picture and forgot about this for a while. I’ve got what Savelev had in mind saying this sentence only after spending two winters in St. Petersburg. The gray is the colour of St. Petersburg winter. It became clear for me that when it’s dark and cold in this majestic northern city, all others colours, if survive, only shade Gray-the-king, they are, literally, “different shades of gray” So Petersburg painted gray for me for a long time, and even in summer, taking colourful pictures, I thought about gray. It couldn’t long forever, and on the fifth winter here I started search colours. I discovered an obvious thing – that the gray city turns into colourful when the magic hour of twilight falls. So the next winter I was shooting colours in twilight. And after that I found that now the city is (and always was, of course) full of colours, and the gray is as good as any other.